The agents dress in track suits, they never fix stuff, and they rip students off by charging them full price during a global pandemic!
Reply left 11/09/2020: Hi Jake, I am so sorry you felt you wanted to give us a 1 star review. I am not sure who you have seen in a tracksuit - our maintenance man wears a polo shirt and workwear trousers usually and the team in the office wear usual office wear. I cannot see any outstanding jobs for your property so I would welcome you emailing me to let me know who you have seen in a tracksuit, and also what jobs are outstanding so I can look into this please - email@example.com. If you are experiencing financial difficulty, we can look at setting up a payment plan, so please also contact us if that is the case. Many thanks, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager.
Absolutely disgusting attitude towards student tenants. Always rude on the phone; bullying, immature attitudes from staff. Absolutely zero professionalism from the company whatsoever, when asking for assistance with maintenance they would delay and often no help would come. Their handling of deposits sits outside of the legal framework of 10 days to return, and they always attempt to take out deductions whether or not work was required to be carried out, in addition their charges for work are extortionate and unjustifiable. Do not rent through this company under any circumstances, they utterly ruined our second year living experience with their disgusting attitudes and obvious prejudice against students, these ARE the nightmare examples you hear of, avoid avoid avoid.
Reply left 24/08/2020: Hi, I'm so sorry you have had this experience with us. I would welcome the opportunity to look into the issues you have raised. Please could you send me an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager.
Just got our deposits back and had a fair amount of money taken from us for cleaning charges which were incredibly nitpicky, e.g. minor dust and debris that was predominantly out of our control - the house had been cleaned before we left. Overall had trouble with them throughout the tenancy, with maintenance work incomplete and rubble left from that work. Boiler broke over winter and took over a week to be repaired due to them sending the wrong person for the job, and having to wait an unknown amount of time in the house to let the repairmen fix the boiler (no specified times were given to us), meaning that we had wasted time that could've been used to go to the library or attend lectures. Secondly, we were told the wifi would not be activated until over a month into the tenancy, which meant that we were paying a lot of money for lack of access to utilities. Overall overpriced for what we had; they took too long to solve any problems in the house and overcharged us in our deposit for 'cleaning' charges. Glad I'm not a student any more and don't have to deal with student letting agents again.
Reply left 19/08/2020: Dear Aisyah, I am sorry you have felt so disappointed that you wanted to give us this 1 star review. I can see that you have sent an email this afternoon, shortly before you posted this review, querying your deposit charges and notifying us of the issues you have had throughout your tenancy, but we have not had chance to go through the queries you have raised, and as some of them are almost 1 year ago we will need time to look into these issues please. We will respond to your email directly to inform you of response timescales. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
I had a problem with a over hanging tree in a garden of a house let by IG Property. I sent an e-mail and got a very quick response from Lucy. She spoke to the landlord and within 24 hours the tree has been dealt with. Lucy kept me informed of what she had done.
Excellent service and very much appreciated.
Reply left 07/08/2020: Hi Jo, thank you so much for your lovely review. It's really kind of you. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager.
Thoroughly disappointed with the experience I had renting a student property this year. One tenant in my house chose to act in an inexcusable manner during our tenancy which resulted in some damage. They did the reasonable thing and took financial responsibility for this but still it seems that this has been taken advantage of to milk as much money out of our deposits as possible. There are random charges that the landlord decided to lob on us which are unjustified and IG are unwilling to challenge it. Very upset at our treatment, after we didn’t receive a response for over a week and then all our concerns were dismissed. If you do use them, make sure you check the property top to bottom because no doubt there will be things that you’ll not notice until it is too late. Very glad my next student house is with another letting agent.
Reply left 07/08/2020: Hi Rebecca, I am sorry that you are upset with your deposit refund, and with the reply that we sent to you. As you state, tenants should check the property thoroughly on first moving in to ensure that the inventory matches with the condition of the property, we wholeheartedly agree with this. We were very sympathetic towards your group, and worked with you when you made us aware that one of your housemates had done the damage without the knowledge of the rest of you, however there have been costs incurred with putting the property back into it's original condition, and this is ultimately what the deposit is held for. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager.
Deeply disingenuous when it came to the return of the deposit citing damage which had clearly occurred prior to our inhabitance, then difficult to have any response and only received one after a week and further attempts to ask for justification. Electrical issues placed as us not replacing light bulbs, cleaning costs of £300 with no awareness of the challenges faced during a pandemic and a complete lack of acknowledgement that the property was in no way cleaned to a professional standard upon arrival
Reply left 05/08/2020: Hi David, I am sorry about the delay in replying to your emails, you should have received an auto-response to let you know we have a large volume of emails which we are working our way through at the moment, so the responses are not as quick as usual, I apologise if you did not receive this. Unfortunately when properties are not left in the same condition at the end of the tenancy as they are at the start charges must be applied to bring the property back to it's original condition. As we received no notification when you moved in, and nothing was noted on the inventory at the start of the tenancy, we were unaware that you were unhappy with the level of cleanliness at the start. We also have not been made aware of any electrical issues. We understand that you reported during your tenancy that a member of your group had caused extensive damages and that it wasn't you personally and though we do sympathise with this, the damages must be made good, and the landlord should not be held liable for the costs incurred because of this damage. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Having rented for a year when it came time for the return of the deposit a detailed breakdown of various deductions was given. This all seemed in order until after close inspection it was clear that this was a deeply disingenuous analysis which included damages to furniture which had been present at the commencement of the tenancy as well as numerous other inconsistencies. On contacting IG to challenge these no response was given. The response failed to accept that a considerable portion of the damages had occurred prior to our occupancy and therefore to charge for it is entirely unreasonable. Furthermore, charges for electrical issues were attributed to light bulbs not being replaced; another unjustifiable charge. Would strongly recommend avoiding them
Reply left 05/08/2020: Hi David, My colleague was part way through a detailed response to the emails we had received from you and your housemate when you posted this review. Unfortunately when properties are not left in the same condition at the end of the tenancy as they are at the start charges must be applied to bring the property back to it's original condition. We are sympathetic with your group as we know that you personally did not do the damage to the house, however, a member of your group did. I believe that my colleague has addressed all matters in full in the email sent this afternoon, but please come back to us if you have further queries. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Never had an issue. IG was patient, helpful, and attentive. If we needed their advice, or had a question for them: they were happy to give an informative answer. Had we any maintenance issues, they would send someone as soon as they could; whoever arrived was usually brief and polite. When we had administrative or logistical issues, they were informative on how to deal with them.
Reply left 27/07/2020: Hi Louie, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you were happy with our service. Best of luck with the future. Kind regards, Katherine, Lettings Manager
Reply left 17/07/2020: Hi, Sorry you felt your wanted to give us a 1 star review. I would welcome the opportunity to look into any issues you have had further for you. Please feel free to email me at email@example.com. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Very unprofessional, couldn't start tenancy due to COVID and personal circumstances, treated me like a criminal even though I told them 5 months in advance and was relentlessly searching for another tenant without the cooperation of the current tenants. Kept emailing the wrong email. Closed office whenever they were busy. AVOID
Reply left 09/07/2020: Hi Megan, we think we have done our utmost to help you with this and I am very sorry that you feel we have treated you like a criminal. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale
Reply left 19/06/2020: Dear Chris, I am sorry that you felt you only wanted to give us a 1-star rating. I would welcome the opportunity to look into any issues that you have had. Please could you email me at firstname.lastname@example.org. Many thanks, Katherine
You have saved all my stuff in this uncertain global situation by boxing them up for me. It is the biggest help I've ever got! Thank you so much!!!
Reply left 26/05/2020: Hi Emilia, you are very welcome. We are glad to be able to help. Kind regards, Katherine
IG Property manage our student property and we have always found them to act in a thoroughly professional manner. In our experience they have always dealt with our tenants in a timely & courteous way , both in terms of property maintenance and the letting arrangements.
Reply left 26/05/2020: Hi Stephen, thank you so much for your review and 5-star rating of us. Kind regards, Katherine
So far have been impressed and pleased with IG properties because they have been accommodating, helpful, quick to reply and attentive to our questions.
Reply left 26/05/2020: Hi, Many thanks for your kind review of our company. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Exploitative of students and they do not communicate with their renters. Make sure you know something of Rental Law or they will exploit you.
DO NOT USE! My brother is a student who left his house during lockdown and tried to negotiate with the company for a reduced rent. The company refused to reduce the fee at all, even the bills which he was not using since he was not there. They then proceeded to send threatening emails and letters without option for any negotiation. Exploitative of students who are vulnerable considering the circumstances, do not use this company.
Reply left 15/05/2020: Hi, I am very sorry you feel this way. We have set up payment plans with a number of our tenants who are now in financial difficulty, I am sorry that your brother is not one of these. I would welcome the opportunity to look into this issue further if you are able to email me please. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager (email@example.com)
I am currently a second year student studying Chemistry at York. Due to the current circumstances with coronavirus I was unable to return to York after the Easter holidays so I have had to study from home in Northern Ireland. My exams are still going ahead in summer but all of my notes and resources I needed to study were at my house in York. I decided to contact the IG office to see if they could do anything for me. They were so understanding and helpful and managed to go to my house, collect my notes and post them over to me at no cost whatsoever. This was greatly appreciated and I couldn't thank them enough.
Reply left 26/05/2020: Hi Sarah, thanks for this. We are very pleased we were able to help you. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Great experience so far with IG, very friendly team in particular Amy who was very accommodating and helped sort out a couple of queries I had.
Reply left 20/04/2020: Hi Lucy, thank you so much for your lovely review. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Shocking, avoid at all costs. The treatment of students during the Corona virus outbreak is verging on criminal
Reply left 07/04/2020: Hi, I am incredibly sorry you feel this way. If you are a managed tenant of ours you should have received regular, extensive informative emails. We are following Governmental and York City Council advice. If you would like to contact us directly we will endeavour to help you. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Reply left 25/02/2020: Hi, I am so sorry you have had issues with us. We believe we have been in touch with you about this and discussed what has happened, but if not and you would like to discuss any issues further please email me at firstname.lastname@example.org. Kind regards, Katherine Teasdale, Lettings Manager
Plus at least 5 reviews on allAgents